

City University Distinguished Lecture Series

Speaker

Professor Wei Yang

Professor of Zhejiang University; Head of the Chinese Academy of Sciences Technological Science Division

Innovation Drive and Basic Research in Mainland China

on

Wednesday, 5 June 2019 at 4:30 pm

at

Connie Fan Multi-media Conference Room 4/F Cheng Yick-chi Building City University of Hong Kong Tat Chee Avenue, Kowloon

Abstract

The development in Mainland China is shifted to a new level of innovation-driven economy. A long chain from basic research to technological breakthrough and then to product development and market share consolidation has to be fully activated. The basic research in the New Era exhibits 4 features: dynamic upgrading in all disciplines, steady improvement for research quality and integrity, the emergence of new generation, and the uprising in international collaborations. Mainland China is also marching for new breakthroughs: door-opening contributions, applied researches of key national competitiveness, new scientific facilities attracting global scientists, and world-class research teams. Professor Yang will conclude by mentioning three weaknesses in the research of Mainland China: health and agriculture, environmental and earth science, and core high technology. Examples and data will be presented to support our analyses.

Biography

Professor Wei Yang was born in 1954 in Beijing. He received his Ph.D. degree from Brown University, USA in 1985. Currently, he is a Professor of Zhejiang University, a Member of Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Head of Technological Science, a Fellow and the Treasurer of The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), a Foreign Member of National Academy of Engineering (USA), and the President of CSTAM. He also serves as an Advisor and the Chairman of the Advisory Council of the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC), an Advisor of Springer-Nature, and the Chair of the China Academic Committee of Elsevier. He received Honorary Doctorate degrees from Brown University, Northwest University, University of Bristol, Aristotle University, and Hong Kong Polytechnic University.

Professor Yang has worked in fracture mechanics, meso and nano mechanics, structures of aerospace vehicles, and X-mechanics. He served as one of the eight Bureau Members of IUTAM, and as the Chair of WP7. He was a Professor of Tsinghua University, and served as the Chair of University Academic Committee. He served as the Director of the Office of Academic Degrees Committee under State Council of China (2004-2006). He was the President of Zhejiang University (2006-2013), and the President of National Natural Science Foundation of China (2013-2018). His research achievements won him the W.T. Koiter Medal and Calvin Rice Award from ASME, and the Eric Reissner Medal from ICCES.

Online registration: https://www.cityu.edu.hk/vprt/dls-registration



Enquiries:
Office of the Vice-President
(Research and Technology)

Tel: 3442 9049
Fax: 3442 0322
Email: vprtdl@cityu.edu.hk

